CHADDS FORD, PA, October 1, 2013 - R. Brognard Okie, the architect who popularized the Colonial Revival style of stone houses in bucolic settings, is the subject of a lecture on October 30 at the Brandywine River Museum. James Garrison, author of the recently published Stone Houses: Traditional Homes of R. Brognard Okie, will talk about his book, which focuses on the work of the eminent architect and the enduring charm of these houses.
Okie greatly contributed to a popular appreciation and understanding of early American domestic architecture, and has had a lasting impact on American residential design.
Stone Houses showcases Okie's houses in pastoral settings and features a beloved kind of home that many aspire to own and live in--a place of warmth and security, of charm and romance. The stone house speaks to a very basic dream of stability and comfort, and the houses featured in the book represent the epitome of this dream. Built in traditional styles between 1899 and 1945, these gems display the hallmarks associated with the stone house-deep fireplaces, thick beamed ceilings, wide plank floors, and country kitchens.
Local architect John Milner, who wrote the foreword to the book, will introduce the speaker.
Garrison is an American architect, the author of three books, and teacher at the Parsons School of Architecture, Lighting, and Design in New York. He is a pioneer in sustainable modern design, emphasizing notions of beauty in form, preservation and long life.
Following the lecture, Garrison, and the book's photographer, Geoffrey Gross, will sign copies. The museum galleries and the museum shop will open at 6 p.m. Light refreshments will be provided from 6 to 7 p.m. $25; $20 Brandywine Conservancy members.
# # #
The Brandywine River Museum, located on U.S. Route 1 in Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, is open daily (except Christmas Day) from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Admission is $12 for adults, $8 for seniors ages 65 and over, $6 for children ages 6 and older and free for children 5 and younger and Brandywine Conservancy members. Museum admission is free on Sunday mornings from 9:30 a.m. until noon through November 24, 2013. For more information, call 610-388-2700 or visit www.brandywinemuseum.org